State and Province Emergency Management Assistance Memorandum of Agreement

Executive Summary

The Central and Prairie regions of the United States and Canada seek to enter into a memorandum of agreement to facilitate cross border emergency management assistance through mutual aid.

Eligible participating jurisdictions may include any or all of the states of Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. Also, any or all of the Canadian provinces of Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario and Saskatchewan. The Agreement allows additional states and provinces to join upon execution or adoption.

Although states and provinces are capable of managing most emergencies, there are times when disasters exceed the state or provincial resources and therefore require outside assistance. Even when federal assistance is merited, cross border mutual aid assistance may be more readily available, less expensive, and/or operationally expedient.

The Agreement can be used for *any* capability and capacity that one member state or province has that can be shared with another. This spans natural disasters from floods and tornados to human-induced emergencies such as chemical spills and terrorist events. The Agreement comprises specialized resources as well as assets that can be brought to bear on any given incident.

The State-Province Agreement also encourages/allows cooperative planning and exercises so that both sides are better prepared regardless of what actions they decide to take during an actual emergency.

The Agreement addresses the issues of tort liability, workers compensation, licensure and reimbursement. It's critical that emergency response personnel have these protections in place prior to their deployment across borders.

Congressionally approved cross border agreements between U.S. states and Canadian provinces and territories already exist in the Northeast and Pacific Northwest. The State-Province Agreement is complementary to those agreements as well as the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) and the Canadian Council of Emergency Management Organizations (CCEMO) Memorandum of Understanding Interjurisdictional Emergency Management Assistance.

Supporting Organizations:

- National Emergency Management Association
- The Council of State Governments
- Federal Emergency Management Agency
- Canadian Council of Emergency Management Organizations
- Public Safety Canada

For more information, contact the National Emergency Management Association at 859-244-8233.